jump to navigation

The Joy of Loading and Firing the Gun July 19, 2006

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Devotional, Uncategorized.
trackback

One of my friends recently told me about a pastor he knows that is known for saying “I love to fire the gun, I just do not enjoy loading it.”  He means that he really enjoys the art of preaching, just not the art of studying and preparing for preaching.  Thus, he ends up preaching other peoples work a lot of the time.

 It is hard for me to relate to this thought.  Being a preacher of God’s Holy Word is a true joy and priviledge.  A major part of that comes from both studying/preparing and preaching the message.  It is nearly impossible for me to separate the two. 

The fact that God has called me to have a part in this amazing process of preaching is truly a mind blowing realization.  In a small way I can relate to the passion and gratefulness of the Apostle Paul when he penned the following to Timothy:

1 Timothy 1

12I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who has given me strength, that he considered me faithful, appointing me to his service. 13Even though I was once a blasphemer and a persecutor and a violent man, I was shown mercy because I acted in ignorance and unbelief. 14The grace of our Lord was poured out on me abundantly, along with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus.

 15Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners—of whom I am the worst. 16But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on him and receive eternal life. 17Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory for ever and ever. Amen.

There is true joy in loading and firing the gun! 

Comments»

1. Bob AuBuchon - July 19, 2006

Good words for a all too often event … men preaching another’s message. I am not suggesting we should not read others works, commentaries, search the internet, borrow an outline, thought, illustration, etc. But we as men in the pulpit should flesh the Word out in office and life before taking it into the pulpit. Though we may all walk through shallow days of wondering what to preach, we should never allow ourselves to wander to deeply into the sin of no preparation and only borrowing.

Good words to keep us “preacher-creatures” honest. Have I borrowed? Yes, I have lived off the fruit of men who are wiser and more skilled than I, but credit I do give when I might use any of the their work. Let us all be men of integrity to know … Thou Shall Not Steal is still to be enforced. Keep blogging our way!


Leave a Reply

