jump to navigation

The Ultimate Lifeguard July 21, 2006

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Devotional.
trackback

This evening I took my four daughters up to our town waterpark.  We enjoyed a fun filled time of playing and splashing in the water.  I always enjoy being with my girls at the pool.  Yet it is a stressful time for me, especially when I am by myself.  The pool has lifeguards all over, yet I do not consider it their job to watch my children.  I am the lifeguard for my children.  So the whole time we are there, I am constantly scanning the area where my girls are playing to make sure i see each of them and know exactly what they are doing.  If they begin to fall over, I steady them.  If they slip and fall, I pick them back up.  If they are scared of the slide, I stand at the bottom to catch them.  I am constantly watching over them and seeking to meet their every need for they are my children and I love them with all my heart.

As I was watching them splash around in the pool this evening I began to think of how that is a picture of the Lord and his children.  He is always watching over us and caring for us as His children.  He is truly the ultimate lifeguard.  Our lives are completely safe in His almighty hands. 

It brought to mind this verse from the prophet Isaiah in the 40th chapter:

“10 See, the Sovereign Lord comes with power, and his arm rules for him.  See, his reward is with him, and his recompense accompanies him. 11 He tends his flock like a shepherd:  He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young.” 

The Lord is constantly watching over us.  If we being to fall over, he steadies us.  If we fall down, he picks us up.  If we are scared, his arms are there to protect us. He is always watching over us for he loves us with a Sovereign love. He is truly the Ultimate Lifeguard!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

