jump to navigation

God is in Control July 26, 2006

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Devotional.
trackback

Today I had the great priviledge of interviewing Dr. Mark Dever for my doctoral project. Dr. Dever is pastor of Capitol Hill Baptist Church in Washington, D.C and the leader of 9 Marks Ministry. We had a great discussion on preaching and ministry. 

As preparation for this interview I tried to read as much material by Dr. Dever and 9 Marks as I possibly could.  In this reading I came across Dr. Dever’s preaching plan for Sept-December 2001.  This plan was prepared months in advance.  Yet in the middle of the events of 9/11 look at the messages that the Lord planned.

I guess the Lord can work well in advance of our timing.

Proverbs 16:9 “In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.”

Here is Dr. Dever’s plan for this time:

________________________________________________________

September –December 2001

When Bad Things Happen

2 studies in Habakkuk

Sept 9 Questions

Habakkuk 1-2

___________________

Sept 16 Confidence

Habakkuk 3

___________________

The Quest…

8 studies in the Psalms

Sept 23 for Peace

Psalm 4

_____________________

Sept 30 for Justice

Psalm 5

_____________________

Oct 7 for Security

Psalm 46

_____________________

Oct 14 for Forgiveness

Psalm 130

_____________________

Oct 21 for Salvation

Psalm 2

_____________________

Oct 28 for Mercy

Psalm 78

_____________________

Nov 4 for Holiness

Psalm 93

_____________________

Nov 18 for Wisdom

Psalm 111

 

 

Comments»

1. Perry McCall - July 25, 2006

David,
I just got the syll. for the first seminar of the D.Min. EP program starting in Jan. We now only have to read about 6 or 7 books and do only 4 book reviews. Yes, 4. Michael was sick too. I thought I would pass on the torture.

Good post. I was told by a former deacon who was attacking my ministry (preaching in particular) that God does not have a six month plan. He claimed that my sermons were not from God because I had a preaching plan. Go figure.

2. tinytim - July 26, 2006

God is so cool… last sunday I announced that we were going to have a “vision Sunday” on Sept 10th. The members are to be praying for the vision of what God wants to do at our church for the next year, then on that Sunday, they can give what they received.

Well yesterday, i received an email from the Executive minister of our state convention announcing info meetings starting Sept 14th throughout the state. One of the things he wanted was a survey filled out outlining the vision of our church for the next year!

How cool is that.

ps. I can only think 1 month ahead with my sermons… wish I could do 6 months.

3. 72 - July 26, 2006

I love to see how God works like that.

4. Bob - July 27, 2006

David
I am envious, in a good way that you were able to interview Mark Dever. I thoroughly enjoyed hearing him speak at “Together for the Gospel” conference in Louisville, back in the Spring. I have enjoyed reading his 9 Marks as well as the “Deliberate Church.” So way to go!

As to the subject, I suppose we should not be so surprised at the handy work of God. I use to a lot of advanced sermon planning, but haven’t done so much of late. I go in stages.

Keep up the good work at Trinty.


Leave a Reply

