jump to navigation

Milestones of Life August 5, 2006

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Devotional.
trackback

One of the milestones in my life is my first day of kindergarten.  I had not been in preschool or anything like that and being for the most part an only child I was really scared of the concept of going off to school.  To help ease my fears my mother promised me that if I did not cry when she left that first day of school she would buy me some goldfish.  So off I went for my first day of school.  I was still scared, but I dearly wanted those goldfish.  I managed to make it that day without any tears.  After school my mom took me to the local pet shop and we picked out some goldfish. 

All of us have milestones that we can recall in our lives.  Such things as your first day of school, your first kiss, your first car, and your first day of college all provide opportunities for us to look back and see how our life has progressed and how God has worked.  In Joshua 4 we find the same type of concept.  The people of God led by Joshua were brought to the Jordan River.  He led through this river on dry ground.  As they get to the other side He asks them to set up some stones as a memorial to what He is doing all around them.  I think the Lord provided this because we so easily forget what He is doing around us and we need these opportunities to see how the Lord has worked in our lives.

What are the milestones in your life that remind you of how God has worked around you? 

Comments»

1. on the journey - August 5, 2006

What a wonderful reminder to look back, around, and forward to see God’s hand on our lives. May He give you many more stones with which to praise Him!


Leave a Reply

