jump to navigation

Top 10 Reasons to Be Thankful For What I Don’t Like November 29, 2006

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Theology.
trackback

John Avant has an interesting list of reasons to be thankful for what he doesn’t like about Southern Baptists:

 10. Though I don’t like the theology of every Southern Baptist, all of our seminaries now uphold the inerrancy of Scripture. Thank you Lord!

9. Though I don’t like everything that some contemporary Southern Baptists do, they are reaching and baptizing many people. Thank you Lord!

8. Though I don’t like everything some traditional Southern Baptists do, they are strongly supportive of the denomination that led me to Jesus. Thank you Lord!

7. Though I don’t like the results of every election we have in SBC life, every leader I have seen elected for years is a solid, Bible-believing man. Thank you Lord!

6. Though I don’t like some of the new music I hear in SBC life, I am learning to sing a new song. Thank you Lord!

5. Though I don’t like singing only hymns, churches that do this are keeping a heritage of God’s great music for our future. Thank you Lord!

4. Though I don’t like some of the fights we have over theology, I am being stretched to grow in my own understanding of the greatness and glory of God. Thank you Lord!

3. Though I don’t like the way many good people in the SBC have been criticized and maligned, God is using these times to bring brokenness and a greater dependence on Him. Thank you Lord!

2. Though I don’t like the many church splits resulting from our fights, in God’s mercy, He uses even this to start new churches that reach many people. Thank you Lord!

1. Though I don’t like it when someone criticizes me personally or even treats me as an enemy, when I respond biblically, I become more like Christ. Thank you Lord!

You can find the entire article here: 

Making Evangelism Good News Again

Comments»

1. tinytim - December 1, 2006

I wonder if we can apply these to Baptistboard?


Leave a Reply

