jump to navigation

Keep on Running December 30, 2006

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Devotional.
trackback

At one time in my life I thought jogging was one of the dumbest things around.  I could not understand why anyone would go out and jog.  It made absolutely no sense to me.  In fact, I would even make fun of the joggers I did know and give them a hard time about running around and around and getting no where. 

Well about 2 years ago I decided that I was going to finally give jogging a try.  I wanted to lose some weight and figured that jogging was the best exercise to help with that endeavor.  Now I truly enjoy getting outside and jogging.  It is a great way to unwind and relax from a busy day. 

I recently purchased a new pair of jogging shoes.  As I purchased them and used them for the first time I began to think of all the times in Scripture that the image of running is used.  In fact my favorite passage of Scripture uses a running theme to convey its intended meaning.

Hebrews 12:1-3 “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.  Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.  Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.” 

As we enter into a New Year, lets keep our eyes on Jesus and keep on running the race that He has marked out for us.  As I jog there are often come times where my body just says “please let’s quit.”  When I feel that coming on I often think of this verse and it motivates me to keep going and to push on to the end.   So my encouragement to all of you out there in Caveland is to keep on running!  Keep on pushing ahead with perseverance, for the Lord has marked out a path for us and now we must run with perseverance and joy knowing that He is in control. 

Happy New Year! 

Comments»

1. Jason Clark - December 31, 2006

I am inspired, may start running again.

2. Bob - January 6, 2007

You have a great place to run. Many things I miss from Willow Springs, but among them the heading out to the country side to run is among the top. I use to run right past your house turning left at the bottom of the street and then on out to the country side. It is a good 5 mile run out through there. Well I have not run for over a year, but you inspire me to get the shoes out, and get back out there. Run my friend run!


Leave a Reply

