jump to navigation

God Knows January 19, 2007

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Devotional.
trackback

Have you ever been around someone that you know did not know who you were, yet they talked to you as if they did?   Yesterday I attended a meeting of a committee that I am on for the Missouri Baptist Convention and while having lunch I had one of the men who work in the Baptist Building come up and start talking to me and I am positive he had no clue who I was, yet he tried to act as if he did.  It was almost humorous.  Finally, another guy came up and said my name and made a comment about my church and I could see the light g off in this guy’s head and from then on he actually used my name the rest of the day.

Over the last couple days I have had Exodus 3 on my mind and heart a lot.  It is the familiar story of Moses and the burning bush.  It is an intriguing story of God speaking and leading his servant Moses in an unusal way.  I am quite positive that Moses did not get up that day and expect to encounter God in a burning bush that day, yet God had other plans for him. 

What did the Lord want to do in Moses life?  He wanted Moses to realize exactly who He was, that He was and is and forever will be the Great I Am.  In verse 6 it says, “I am the God of your father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac and the God of Jacob.”   Even though Moses was a murderer, God still wanted to work in his life and use him for His ultimate glory. 

As the story continues God tells Moses that He has heard and see the misery of His people. “I have indeed seen the misery of my people in Egypt.  I have heard them crying out because of their slave drivers, and I am concerned about their suffering.  So I have come down to rescue them from the hand of the Egyptians and to bring them up out of that land into a good and spacious land, a land flowing with milk and honey. . . And now the cry of the Israelites has reached me,  and I have seen the way the Egyptians are oppressing them. So now go, I am sending you to Pharaoh to bring my people the Israelites out of Egypt.” 

Isn’t it amazing to know that God knows? He knows our hurts.  He knows our pain.  He knows our joy.  He knows our happiness.  He knows our suffering.  He knows our misery.  He knows our everything.  Great comfort comes in knowing that He knows! 

Why does He know?  How does He know? Because He is the Great I Am.  “God said to Moses, “I am Who I am.””

I hope that all of you in Caveland today can take comfort and rest in the fact that God knows! 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

