jump to navigation

The Morning I Heard the Voice of God March 24, 2007

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Theology.
trackback

Let me tell you about a most wonderful experience I had early Monday morning, March 19, 2007, a little after six o’clock. God actually spoke to me. There is no doubt that it was God. I heard the words in my head just as clearly as when a memory of a conversation passes across your consciousness. The words were in English, but they had about them an absolutely self-authenticating ring of truth. I know beyond the shadow of a doubt that God still speaks today. 

To read the rest of the story go to:

The Morning I Heard the Voice of God

Pastor and author John Piper writes this interesting and thought provoking article on his website.  I would encourage you to read it and wrestle with what he shares. 

I have often spent time meditating on this topic of God’s voice and how exactly He speaks.  My mom told me of a very powerful event in her life in which she believed without a shadow of a doubt that she heard audibly the voice of God speak to her and comfort her. 

 I have not experienced this type of audible voice.  However, I do believe that God speaks in many different ways.  First, foremost and above all He speaks through His innerant and infallible Word.  But is that the only way that He speaks today?  As I examine the testimony of Scripture and all the many ways that God used to communicate, I have to answer that question no.  I mean for goodness sakes, He used a donkey!  I have never understood why people want to put God in a box and pretend as if they know exactly how He works. 

 I do not claim to completely understand how God speaks nor do I have a complete handle on all the ways that God speaks.  I do know for certain that God speaks.   My daily hope and prayer is that I am walking in close relationship with Him so that I can hear Him speak to me through His Word and through any other means He deems necessary! 

May we all have ears and a heart that is ready to respond, “Speak, Lord, for your servant is listening” (1 Samuel 3:9)!

Comments»

1. tc - June 21, 2007

I must admit that the first time I read the article I didn’t get it. But I got into a conversation with another pastor about it. He got it. So I went back and read it. Then I got it. Quite clever, I say.

But God still speaks to us through his words.


Leave a Reply

