jump to navigation

Hope Against All Hope March 29, 2007

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Devotional.
trackback

Psalm 119:49-50 “Remember your word to your servant, for you have given me hope.  My comfort in my suffering is this:  Your promise preserves my life.” 

 Romans 4:18-21 “Against all Hope Abraham in hope believed and so became the father of many nations, just as it had been said to him, “so shall your offspring be.”  Without weakening in his faith, he faced the fact that his body as as good as dead–since he was about a hundred years old–and that Sarah’s womb was also dead.  Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised.” 

This morning as I was studying for this week’s sermon I recieved a call from the funeral home in town.  They had a preacher cancel on them for a graveside service this afternoon and wanted to know if there was any chance I could help them out.  I agreed to come and officiate the service. 

As I was at the grave and had the opporutnity to share with this family in there time of need, I was reminded of just how hopeless this life is without God and His purpose.  This family had nothing to really cling to in their time of need and just seemed as if they were wandering aimlessly through this life.  I pray that I was able to help them see that even in such a hard time there is hope to be found. 

As you and I go through our struggles and hard times this life throws at us, let us never forget the great hope that is found in God.  Abraham had every reason in the world to think the promise of God was crazy, yet against all hope he put his hope in the Lord.  Let’s follow this example and cling to the great hope we have in the Lord. 

Hope in the Lord is greater than anything this world has to offer us, and it will preserve our lives!  The Lord and His Word gives me great hope today, what about you? 

Comments»

1. Sarai - March 29, 2007

“The Lord and His Word gives me great hope today, what about you?”

Count me in too.


Leave a Reply

