jump to navigation

Rich in Mercy October 5, 2007

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Devotional.
trackback

Growing up my Aunt Donna (who really wasn’t my Aunt, but thats another story) used to say all the time “Oh mercy, David Lee!”  I can still hear her saying that.  I was never quite sure what she meant, but since she said it I assumed it was a good thing.  Sometimes it seems that mercy is hard to get a handle on, hard to truly understand., and hard to model.

Mercy is something that I have been contemplating a lot recently.  What is mercy?  Mercy is not receiving something we deserve.  The ultimate act of mercy was show by God in sending His own Son to be Savior. 

Jesus Himself showed great mercy throughout His ministry here on this earth.  Even as He hung upon the cross He was showing mercy, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing” (Luke 23:34). 

When you have experienced a gift of mercy, it should motivate you to be a merciful person in return.  My prayer is that I will grow in my understanding of mercy each day, and that I will in turn be merciful to those around me who are hurting and in need. 

Ephesians 4:4-5 “But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions–it is by grace that you have been saved.”

A big thank you to all of the cave dwellers who show mercy each day.  I hope all of us will take an opportunity today to extend mercy to someone and model the love and mercy of Christ. 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

