jump to navigation

Tony Dungy: Quiet Strength April 27, 2008

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Just for Fun, sports.
trackback

I just recently finished reading Quiet Strength. It is the life story of Tony Dungy. Tony is the head coach of the Indianapolis Colts. However, more importantly Tony is a devout follower of Jesus Christ. If you are looking for a good book to read I would highly recommend it.

Here are some of my favorite quotes from the book:

This book is not only about me, either. It’s about the priorities, choices, approaches, and habits that lead to being a winner, to experiencing true success. It’s about you and me and our journey in this world together. It’s about the things I’ve learned, the mistakes I’ve made, and the heartaches that have made me lean into the Father’s presence. I hope that when its all said and done, you’ll see that it’s really all about Him. (Pg. xvi)

It was the first time I was able to look at football as something that God was allowing me to do, not something that should define me. I couldn’t take my identity from this sport; I had to consciously make sure that God was in first place. (Pg. 51)

I had once again learned a valuable lesson. God’s plan don’t always follow human logic. . . We often can’t see what God is doing in our lives, but God sees the whole pictures and His plan for us clearly. (Pg. 94)

My purpose in life is simply to glorify God. We have to be careful that we don’t let the pursuit of our life’s goals, no matter how important they may seem, cause us to lose sight of our purpose. I coach football. But all the good I can do to glorify God along the way is my real purpose. I want to help people see the path to eternal life through Christ, to enjoy an abundant life now, and to fulfill their God-given purposes here. (Pg. 301)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

