jump to navigation

Look to the Rock May 4, 2008

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Devotional.
trackback

Isaiah 51

1 “Listen to me, you who pursue righteousness
and who seek the LORD :
Look to the rock from which you were cut
and to the quarry from which you were hewn;

2 look to Abraham, your father,
and to Sarah, who gave you birth.
When I called him he was but one,
and I blessed him and made him many.

3 The LORD will surely comfort Zion
and will look with compassion on all her ruins;
he will make her deserts like Eden,
her wastelands like the garden of the LORD.
Joy and gladness will be found in her,
thanksgiving and the sound of singing.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Isaiah encourages us to look back to the rock from which we came.  Why would he do this?  I think there are probably many reason, but here he seems to note 4 that we should remember:

1.  The Lord blessed in the past.  He reminds us of the story of Abraham and Sarah and how they hoped against all hope and God provided for them.  Since He has blessed in the past we should be encouraged knowing that He will bless in the present and future.

2. The Lord provides comfort and compassion on His own.  When things appear to be at their worst, God has a way of stepping in and providing hope.

3.  The Lord takes wastelands and makes them into gardens.  What we make wastelands, God turns to beautiful lush gardens.

4.  When we remember such things it should lead us to joy, gladness and thanksgiving.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Isaiah continues with some powerful reminders of His power and work!

4 “Listen to me, my people;
hear me, my nation:
The law will go out from me;
my justice will become a light to the nations.

5 My righteousness draws near speedily,
my salvation is on the way,
and my arm will bring justice to the nations.
The islands will look to me
and wait in hope for my arm.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Lord calls us to listen and to hear what He is saying to His people.  He is at work.  His righteousness is coming quickly!  May we take note of God’s word and His work around us and be ready.

May we never forget to look to the Rock!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

