jump to navigation

Happy Birthday Mom! June 13, 2008

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Just for Fun.
trackback

Today would have been my Mom’s 77th birthday.  She died in 2003 from some lung problems she battled for several years.  I miss my Mom a lot. There is not a day that goes by that I do not think about her and realize just what a big impact she had on my life.

I was what most people would call a Mama’s boy, especially growing up.   When I was little my father worked shift work and was gone a lot.  During that time my Mom and I did all kinds of things together.  She would play wiffle ball with me, play in the sandbox, and do just about anything I wanted to do.

This picture was taken at my high school graduation in 1994.  It was one of the happiest moments that I can remember for my Mom.  It makes me sad to know that she did not get to share in my seminary graduations because I know how happy she would have been.

My Mom taught me many things about life.  One of the most important things she impressed upon me was the importance of a strong spiritual life.  Every morning she would get up and spend time in prayer and bible study.  Every day she would also write in a prayer journal.  I have all her prayer journals in my office and I love to look through them and read the different prayers that she prayed for me, her family, her friends and her church.  When I was very young my Mom and I memorized the Lord’s Prayer and the 23rd Psalm and we would recite them together every morning.  Sadly there was times when I was younger that I thought this practice was a little dumb, but looking back I am extremely thankful that she lead us to do that.

My Mom was a very social person.  She never met a stranger and would talk to anyone at any time about anything. This was a part of her personality that was very frustrating to me at times growing up, but looking back I can see how I developed some of this part of her personality as well and how it has helped me in my calling as a pastor.

I have several favorite memories of my Mom, but some of the most special ones come from our yearly family vacations to fish at Lake Freeman in Monticello, Indiana.  Every June for 2 weeks we would head to the lake and stay in a cabin.  Now to better understand this, you would have to know that my mom did not like the outdoors.  She did not fish.  She did not swim.  Yet she loved these family vacations.  While my Dad and I would spend the majority of our time fishing, she would stay in the cabin and cook and work word puzzles and just relax.  Just about every morning on those vacations my Mom and I would have breakfast together and then play a Dukes of Hazzard card game that we always brought with us.  While playing cards we would always listen to a local talk show on the country radio station.  This may not seem like much to most of you, but they were very special times for me.

Happy Birthday Day Mom!  I miss you dearly and I praise God every day for the impact you had and continue to have on my life.  I pray that I can have the same impact on my daughters.  To all the Cave Dwellers out there, take time today to tell your Mom how special she is and how much you love her.

Comments»

1. Brian Corbeille - August 31, 2009

David ,Your Mom was pretty cool.She was like a second mother to me.

Brian


Leave a Reply

