jump to navigation

Thoughts on Prayer August 12, 2008

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Uncategorized.
trackback

Lately I have been doing some reading in this book by John Piper.  I have enjoyed it, but the chapter I read today on prayer really hit me hard.   Prayer is something that I have always seemed to struggle with.  I know I am to pray and I know that prayer is powerful, but I often fail to really take the time needed to spend quality time in prayer. I know all the right things about prayer, I just need to be more faithful in praying.

I thought I would share a few of the quotes here for all the cave dwellers:

Prayer is the coupling of primary and secondary causes.  It is the splicing of our limp wires to the lightning bolt of heaven.

A pastor who feels himself competent in himself to produce eternal fruit–which is the only kind that really matters–knows neither God nor himself.  A pastor who does not know the rhythm of desperation and deliverance must have his sights only on what man can achieve.

We are called to labor for that which is God’s alone to give.  The essence of Christian ministry is that its success is not within our reach.

Prayer is the translation into a thousand different words of a single sentence: “Apart from me [Christ] you can do nothing” (John 15:5).

Oh, how we need to wake up to how much “nothing” we spend our time doing.  Apart from prayer, all our scurrying about, all our talking, all our study amounts to “nothing.” For most of us the voice of self-reliance is ten times louder than the bell that tolls for the hours of prayer.  The voice cries out:  “You must open the mail, you must make that call, you must write this sermon, you must prepare for the board meeting, you must go to the hospital.”  But the bell tolls softly:  “Without Me you can do nothing.”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

