jump to navigation

Be It Resolved January 1, 2009

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Uncategorized.
trackback

The first day of the year is upon us.  And while I am not a big fan of “New Year’s Resolutions” since I find that I end up breaking them by the second week of the year.  I did take time today to look over Jonathan Edward’s resolutions.

Edwards would read over these once every week in order to keep his mind on his duty before God.  They are quite challenging.

I am highlighting a few of them here that caught my attention and would probably be good for all of us to strive for during 2009.

–  Resolved, that I will do whatsoever I think to be most to God’s glory, and my own good, profit and pleasure, in the whole of my duration, without any consideration of the time, whether now, or never so many myriad’s of ages hence. Resolved to do whatever I think to be my duty and most for the good and advantage of mankind in general. Resolved to do this, whatever difficulties I meet with, how many and how great soever.

–  Resolved, never to do any manner of thing, whether in soul or body, less or more, but what tends to the glory of God; nor be, nor suffer it, if I can avoid it.

–  Resolved, to live with all my might, while I do live.

–  Resolved, never to do anything, which I should be afraid to do, if it were the last hour of my life.

–  Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same.


Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

