jump to navigation

Book Recommendation February 12, 2009

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Uncategorized.
trackback

Back in 1995 when I surrended to following God’s call on my life to be a preacher I had absolutely no idea how to actually preach.  I jumped in and did the best I could, but it was not until I met Dr. Ben Awbrey at Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary that I really began to learn how to truly preach.   Aside from my parents, there is probably no other person in this world who has impacted my life more than Dr. Awbrey.  He is a great professor and he now has his first book published.  So it brings me great joy to recommend this book to all who seek to faithfully preach God’s word.

In this book, Dr. Awbrey provides some great insights into one of the most crucial, yet most overlooked components of the sermon: the introduction.  Crafting a good introduction is one of the hardest aspects of sermon preparation, but Dr. Awbrey provides a lot of helpful advice that every preacher can reasonate with and utilize in their own preparation.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

