jump to navigation

Browsing Old Books March 27, 2009

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Uncategorized.
trackback

Yesterday I had the opportunity to do one of my favorite things: go to a used book store and browse.  I love looking at old books.  I enjoy reading the titles, looking at the authors name, and flipping through the book to see the style and substance of the book. Each book has a story to tell based on many different variables.

As I was looking at the books, I began to think about how in many ways books are just like people.  There are different shapes and varieties.  Each has their own personality and background.  Also, probably the best a book and a person can hope for is to be able to be useful to someone or something during their existance.

I think many times I settle for just getting by and existing, just like those old books on a shelf.  Instead I should seek to be more useful, rather than sitting back, I should be active and intentional. Those old books have to wait for someone to use them.  I do not have to wait, I can get up off the shelf.  I can be active.  I can be intentional.  I can be useful.

My prayer today for all the Cave dwellers is that we would all seek to be more useful to our Lord in all areas of our lives.  Thanks for listening to the ramblings of an old book browser.  On a side note, I did come away from that used book store with quite a gem: The Memoirs of J.P. Boyce one of the founders and first president of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

