jump to navigation

Preaching the Cross April 10, 2009

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Uncategorized.
trackback

Today I had the honor of preaching our town’s Good Friday Service.  As I was preparing, I spent a lot of time reflecting on the cross.  It truly is amazing what happened on that day and the eternal impact it has upon our lives.  I came across the words to this old hymn that I want to share here.  Rejoice in the wonderful cross today!

O sacred Head, now wounded, with grief and shame weighed down.

Now scornfully surrounded, with thorns your only crown.

How pale you are with anguish, with sorrow, abuse and scorn!

How does your visage languish, which once was bright as morn!

What you, my Lord have suffered, was all for sinners’ gain.

Mine, mine was the transgression, but yours the deadly pain.

O, here I fall, my Savior! It’s I who deserve your place.

But you showed me your favor! It is all because of grace”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

