jump to navigation

Thou Lovely Source of True Delight August 27, 2009

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Uncategorized.
trackback

Over the past few days I was able to attend a Baptist History conference at Southern Seminary.  It was a fun time to get away and learn some things about our past from some of the leading minds in the Baptist world.

One of things on the schedule was a Baptist Hymn sing that focused on the spirituality seen in so many of our historical baptist hymns.  Coming into the conference I was not too excited about this part of the schedule, but it turned out to be one of the highlights.  We were able to sing several old hymns that I had never heard before and learn of their stories that made them so special to our brothers and sisters of ages gone past. It is sad to know that some of these hymns are being lost to the baptist world.  I pray God raises up folks who will care about these hymns that are so powerful and full of good biblical doctrine!

My favorite hymn we learned about and sung was one by Anne Steele entitled “Thou Lovely Source of True Delight.”  Ms. Steele endured some tough times in her life and yet through it all was able to use these times as the motivation for some great hymns of the faith.  Here are the words to this beautiful piece:

Thou lovely source of true delight whom I unseen adore.  Unveil thy beauties to my sight that I might love Thee more, Oh that I might love Thee more.

Thy glory o’er creation shines but in Thy sacred Word I read, in fairer, brighter lines my bleeding, dying Lord, See my bleeding, dying Lord.

‘Tis here, whene’er my comforts droop and sin and sorrow rise, Thy love with cheering beams of hope my fainting heart supplies, Oh my fainting heart’s supplied.

But ah! Too soon the pleasing scene is clouded o’er with pain.  My gloomy fears rise dark between and I again complain, Oh, and I again complain.

Jesus, my Lord, my life, my light. Oh come with blissful ray. Break radiant through the shades of night and chase my fears away, Won’t you chase my fears away.

Then shall my soul with rapture trace, the wonders of thy love. But the full glories of thy face, are only known above, They are only known above.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

