jump to navigation

The Spirit’s Leading June 1, 2011

Posted by pastorsbc1303 in Uncategorized.
trackback

I have always had a hard time understanding the working of the Holy Spirit in the life of a believer.  There have been times in which I have felt His presence so strong that I was almost overwhelmed by His power and might.  Other times it is a struggle to realize and remember that He is there every moment of every day.

Recently I was given a good reminder of His presence and leadership in my life.  One afternoon I received a phone call from a church member that his father, a long time church member and deacon, was not doing well and they were not sure how long he was going to be alive.  As I began to contemplate what I should do next, I immediately began to think to myself that I was tired and was nearing the end of a long day, I should go home and relax and I would go and visit with this gentleman and his family the next morning.

When I arrived home to relax, I couldn’t.  The Holy Spirit was instructing me that I needed to go and visit this gentleman and his family right then and not put it off.  I tried my best to ignore this leading and return to my self-centered evening.   The longer I waited, the more intense this leading became.  Finally, I got up and obeyed.  I went to the nursing home and saw this man and his family.  And I am so thankful I did because early the next morning I got a phone call that this man had went home to be with his Lord very early in the morning.  If I had waited to visit him, I would have been too late.

The Holy Spirit in many ways is still a huge mystery to me, but I am thankful He still speaks, leads, and guides His children.  I pray that next time I will not be so stubborn in obeying.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

